All that glitters is gold

In just two weeks Childhood Cancer Awareness month will be in full swing.  I have a feeling this year is going to be a BIG year for us.  Many foundations, individuals and celebrities have brought a lot of attention to this monster.  I am convinced a lot of eyes are going to open, a lot of heads will be raised and a lot of voices will be extremely loud this September.  What will you be doing to help? 

Listen, I know I am a little crazy.  I have known it for a while now.  But when your life is turned up side down, being crazy is the least of your worries.  You just kind of let the crazy flow.  Sometimes it’s fun and exciting, other times it gets you into trouble.  Either way, it is my fuel to keep me going, to keep my mouth open and my voice loud.  Crazy=advocate for my son. 

So, here is my plan for the upcoming month.  Some of it requires the click of your mouse, using your share button of FB, or reaching into your pockets to donate to not for profit foundations that help families locally and foundations that all money raised goes to pediatric cancer research. There is SOOOOO much going on next month!!! More than ever before.  Alex’s Lemonade Stand, CureSearch, The Ronan Thompson Foundation, St. Baldrick’s, Pediatric Cancer Foundation of the Lehigh Valley, Angel 34, The Coco Foundation, Brenton’s Hope…the list goes on and on and on. 

Through out the month of September my blog is going to blow up.  Not literally, figuratively.  I will post links to foundations daily.  Share those links.  Share my blog.  I am going to remind everyone to SHARE, SHARE, SHARE!!!!!  The more people who know about this monster, the more attention the CAUSE will get.  When a certain cause gets a lot of attention, we all know what happens….GREAT THINGS!!! That’s what happens.  I have also decided to do my own “gorilla advertising.”  I am printing out facts and statistics on little square pieces of paper and putting them in random places….like a bathroom, or a bill fold at a restaurant after we pay the bill.  So sneaky…I love it.  Totally up my alley.  Yay!!!!!

So, this is my call to action.  Help me out!  Everyone has been so wonderful since that shitty day that we found out Sam was thrown into the front lines of the battle for his life.  We usually do the CureSearch walk in October, but we are sitting this one out since it is Sam’s Birthday party weekend, but we will be pushing the walk relentlessly until the day of. 

So get ready for my “in your face” approach to Childhood Cancer Awareness Month.  If you don’t like it…oh well. Shut me off for a month, hide me on your timeline.  Whatever you gotta do.  I have a pretty good feeling I will have a gold army behind me ready to charge when I say the word.  LET’S GOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

One thought on “All that glitters is gold

Leave a Reply

